embroidery thread that is a bit heavier than a 40 wt., but it isn’t as common. But Moore steps to a neutral corner, pointing out the difficulty in relying too heavily on one’s personal preference: “Discussing thread-type preferences in the embroidery industry can be more difficult than a heated discussion of religion or politics. I know this is of course only possible because I am a hobbyist so quality goes before quantity. Medcraft concludes: “I prefer rayon simply because it runs better on my machines. Though the price per spools looks great, we often find embroiderers hating polyester embroidery thread because, not knowingly, they were using a polyester embroidery thread knock-off. Since ninety percent of what we do requires durability to include casual washing practices, I lean towards polyester.”Ah, there’s the rub. It has a natural shine that I have yet to see any polyester match. It is also great if you want to hind your stitches when stitching in the ditch. There’s nothing I love more than the texture of quilting. It is a good choice for most machine and hand sewing projects. Threads produced using rayon, cotton, polyester, silk, and so forth are utilized for embroidery. Where cost is a factor, polyester is the less expensive thread. Not once did it break and I also ironed over the top with the iron set on cotton to smooth down slightly afterwards, nothing melted or was effected. A benefit of polyester thread is that it resists fading, bleaching and ironing which makes it a workhorse for clothing … ; Embroidery floss or stranded cotton is a loosely twisted, slightly glossy 6-strand thread, usually of cotton but also manufactured in silk, linen, and rayon. Industrial embroidery threads. Browse our collection of educational articles. But, ask any embroidery machine and she will say “I prefer polyester embroidery thread”. Polyester embroidery thread boasts that their embroidery thread runs smoothly without thread breaks at high embroidery speeds, will not fade